Charles Burney – the Six Cornet Pieces in digital edition

The RCO’s Library contains many examples of printed music from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, and a series of digitised editions has been launched to highlight this area of the collection, in order to bring to light often rare material that is not readily available in either printed or electronic formats.

This includes the Six Cornet Pieces by the renowned Dr Charles Burney (1726–1814).  His name appears most frequently with reference to his writings on music—notably his four-volume A General History of Music (1776–89) and the books of travel writing that prepared for it—rather than in conjunction with his documented activities as a practising musician and composer.

As a man of letters, he became an accepted and important national figure - but he was evidently an able organist, and the organ played a significant role throughout his life. This online edition by focusses on the first of his two published collections of organ music.

Andrew McCrea has written an introduction to the Six Cornet Pieces which you can download below:

Burney_Six Cornet Pieces Introduction_McCrea

The music is available to download to RCO Members only, and can be found here.

This content is available free of charge to College members. To find out more about joining RCO, please click here.

Non-members with an iRCO guest account can view this content with a one-off payment of £. Please enter your details below to begin the secure payment process.

Pay with WorldPay

Your Contact Details

Card Holders Address

Leave a Reply